Actions Summary

A comprehensive list of all actions that can be performed in the Remote Galaxy Store.

Session history

The History area contains a list of videos of all sessions you have completed in the last week, ordered by date and time the session occurred (the most recent session is on top). It can take 10 minutes or more after your session ends before the video is available for viewing or downloading.

To access the History area, click .

Click on the date to display a screenshot of the video and additional actions.

Each video is kept for seven days, after which it is automatically deleted. The number of days left before the video is deleted is shown in red, under the trash can icon. You can view, download, or delete the video before the expiration date.

Opens or closes the History area

Refresh the list of videos displayed in the History area.
Note: It can take 10 minutes or more after your session ends before the video is available for viewing or downloading. If, after 10 minutes you do not see a video of your session, click the Refresh button.

Deletes all videos in the History area.

Deletes the associated video from the History area.

To download a video, right-click on the screenshot of the video and select Save video as.

Device information

Device information appears at the top of the Remote Galaxy Store. It displays information about the device you are using and a timer counting down the amount of time you have available, displayed in hours, minutes, and seconds (hh:mm:ss). The blinking red dot indicates an active session.

Device content management

Manage content on or disconnect from the device using the buttons that appear in the top menu bar.

Opens an active listing of the most recent messages generated by logcat. The log file may contain more messages than are visible in the display area. You can filter, download, and delete the contents of the log file.

See Debug an app for more information.

Immediately ends your session with the device. Any content you added to the device (such as any apps you uploaded, browser history, pictures or videos, and user credentials) is automatically deleted.

Deletes any apps you uploaded, browser history, pictures or videos, and user credentials.

Caution: This action cannot be undone.

Takes an image of the screen displayed on the device. You can take a screenshot, download a screenshot to your personal computer, or clear the screenshot from the display.

See Capture a screen for more information.

Device controls

Device controls appear in a side toolbar. They are a set of buttons that provide commonly used device functions.

Locks the device when the device is on.

Wakes up the device when the device is locked. On some devices, it will also unlock the device.

Displays the most recent apps used on the device.

Returns you to the home screen of the device.

Takes you back to the previous screen or app you were using.

Emulates swiping your finger across the display of the device in one of four directions, starting from the middle of the display. You can also hold down your mouse button and use the cursor to swipe across the display.

Increases or decreases the volume on the device.

Emulates the Bixby key which opens and closes Bixby Home. Bixby is a digital personal assistant for your mobile device.

This button is not available on all devices.

Note: Holding down this button does not access Bixby voice.

Rotates the position of the device between vertical and horizontal.

Note: This features is not  supported on the Galaxy S7, Tab (all), and Note8.

Capture a screen

Take an image of the screen displayed on the device.

  1. 1.

    From the top menu bar, click .

  2. 2.

    An image of the display appears in the Take Screenshot area.

    Capture a new image of the display of the device.

    Save the image to your personal computer. If you cleared the screenshot, the last image displayed in the Take Screenshot area is saved.

    Clear the image from the Take Screenshot area.

  3. 3.

    Click in the top menu bar to clear the Take Screenshot area.

Debug an app

If your app is not performing as expected, you can monitor and download the log file (generated by logcat).

  1. 1.

    From the top menu bar, click .

  2. 2.

    An active listing of the most recent messages in the log file is shown. Only the messages that fit in the display area, not the entire log file, are shown.

    Dropdown menu to filter the type of messages displayed, based on priority.

    Priority in the menu is listed from lowest to highest (Verbose, Debug, Info, Warn, Error, Assert). Selecting a priority includes messages of the selected priority and higher. For example, if you select Warn, messages with Warn, Error, and Assert priority are displayed.

    It may take a few seconds for the display to refresh and list the filtered messages.

    Save the entire log file to your personal computer. Filtering only affects the displayed log file content, not the content that is downloaded.

    Clear the contents of the log file.

    Filter by tag and priority. The tag in a log message typically refers to the system component from which the message originates.

    Filter format

    <tag>[:<priority>]

    • <tag> (required) must match the tag used in the log message exactly. It is case-sensitive and wildcards are not allowed. For example, specifying a filter tag of "scanrecord" or "Scan" or "Scan*" does not return log messages with a tag of "ScanRecord."

    • <priority>  (optional) is the first letter of the priority type, in uppercase (for example, W for Warn). If no priority is specified, the lowest priority (V or Verbose) is used.

      If you want to filter by priority only, use the priority dropdown menu.

    You can specify more than one filter. Each filter must be separated by a space. Messages that match any of the filters are displayed. For example, if you specify "MyActivity:I MyService:D" as the filter, messages with the MyActivity tag and a priority of Info or higher in addition to messages with the MyService tag and a priority of Debug or higher are displayed.

    After entering a tag filter, click the magnifying glass icon or press Enter to initiate filtering.

    To clear the tag filter, you must either select a priority from the dropdown menu or exit and re-enter the Logs area.

    Note

    Only one filter is active at a time (either the priority filter [dropdown menu] or tag filter). The last filter set is the filter used. For example, if you select a priority of Warn from the dropdown menu, all messages with a priority of Warning or higher are displayed. If you then enter "ScanRecord:D" into the tag filter, the filter resets and all messages with a tag of ScanRecord and a priority of Debug or higher are displayed.

  3. 3.

    Click in the top menu bar to remove the log view.