A subscription can be configured in Seller Portal to offer the following pricing options:
A subscription must have the regular option configured. Optionally, the subscription may also offer a discounted subscription, a free trial, or both. By configuring one or more of these options, a subscription could have a different initial purchase price, renewal price, and repurchase price.
You can have multiple in-app items using the same content, but with different prices and/or subscription periods for promotions or other purposes. For example, you may offer content for a limited time (for example, a month) at a discount price that includes a discounted subscription for a year. After the month has expired, you can offer the same content but at the regular subscription price.
After your app is published in Galaxy Store, the Seller Portal settings for the app’s subscription items (such as price and subscription period) cannot be changed. However, you can delete the subscription item and register a new one with the desired settings. When a subscription item is deleted, the subscription is automatically canceled for existing subscribers.
A regular subscription is a subscription that charges a set price for each subscription period. The price and subscription period do not change. If you are adding an in-app item type that is a subscription, you must configure the regular subscription information when adding the item in Seller Portal. A subscription:
A subscription period, called the payment cycle in Seller Portal, is the amount of time your app user can use this item before it must be renewed. A subscription period:
The availability period is how long the subscription item is accessible for purchase. The availability period:
A subscription item purchased during the availability period is automatically renewed and billed like any other subscription item. It can be used by the customer until they cancel their subscription, even if the item is no longer available for purchase. If the customer cancels their subscription and the availability period has passed, the customer cannot repurchase this item.
A lower-tier subscription is a subscription that charges a discounted price for a limited amount of time. A lower-tier subscription is a defined number of subscription periods that the user can purchase the in-app item at a discounted price (the subscription period used is the subscription period configured for a regular subscription). Only one lower-tier subscription can be configured for an in-app item. A lower-tier subscription:
If a user cancels their subscription during the lower-tier subscription and then repurchases the subscription, the lower-tier subscription is no longer available. That is, the user cannot restart the lower-tier subscription if the subscription is canceled.
A free trial is a set period of time that the user can use the in-app item for free. Only one free trial period can be configured for an in-app item. A free trial period:
For India customers only, when the free trial period ends, the subscription is automatically cancelled unless the customer consents to renew the subscription. Customers in India must manually resubscribe after a cancellation and do not receive any lower-tier or free trial benefits when they resubscribe.
For all customers except those in India, when the free trial period ends, either the lower-tier subscription (if configured) or regular subscription automatically begins. That is, when the free trial period ends, the user is automatically billed the subscription price for the item.
If a user cancels their subscription during the free trial period and then repurchases the subscription, the free trial period is no longer available. That is, the user cannot restart the free trial period if the subscription is canceled.
At any time after a subscription is purchased, an app user can cancel their subscription in Galaxy Store by navigating to My apps > Receipts > Items tab, selecting the purchased item, and clicking Unsubscribe.
After a subscription is canceled, the user can purchase the item again. However, an item's free trial period and lower-tier subscription options (if configured) do not apply to the repurchased item.